15-10-2014, CANYON Individual and Team Success for 2014


It’s official. For the fourth year in a row a Canyon rider has once again finished the season as winner of the UCI WorldTour. Following on from the success of Phillippe Gilbert in 2011 and Joaquim Rodríguez in 2012 and 2013, this time it’s Alejandro Valverde of Movistar Team who takes the crown for 2014.

The Spanish team captain used his incredible consistency throughout the whole season to clinch the title, racking up a total of 11 wins from February through to September. Riding the Ultimate CF SLX, Valverde was a key player in one day classics taking his biggest victories at Flèche Wallonne and the Clásica San Sebastián. With fourth place at the Tour de France followed by an impressive third at the Vuelta a España, Valverde was also a proven performer when it came to stage racing and the Grand Tours this season.


Success has certainly not been limited to one rider. In the 2014 UCI WorldTour Team Rankings Movistar Team has also finished the year in top spot . A total of 34 victories marks the squad’s most successful season to date and one that will certainly go down in the history books following Nairo Quintana's stunning ride at the Giro d'Italia.

The first year of the Canyon and Movistar Team partnership could hardly have gone better. Now there is some time to reflect upon the victories and milestones, but work will begin again very soon as the team hunt for more success in 2015.

Canyon congratulates to the entire Movistar Team for an outstanding season in 2014!

The Season in Numbers

34 victories, with 10 different riders:
Alejandro Valverde (11); Nairo Quintana (7); Adriano Malori (5); Alex Dowsett, JuanJo Lobato, Jesús Herrada (2); José Joaquín Rojas, Gorka Izagirre, Ion Izagirre, Dayer Quintana, Movistar Team (1).