DRAW THE LINE

“To be the fastest, you have to get creative.” It was with this principal in mind that we set out in 2014 to build an all-new thoroughbred downhill machine. You've seen the hype, now find out the theory.

Suspension Concept

Kinematics

When developing the Sender’s four-bar suspension system we set out to create the perfect mix of three interlocking characteristics: anti-squat, pedal kickback and anti-rise. Finding the sweetspot for all three results in a system that delivers efficiency, control and builds momentum on track.

Inspired by motocross setups, our all-new MX Link enables us to tune the shock leverage ratio independent of any other factors.

The combination of our MX Link and the latest generation of lightweight, highly adjustable air shocks means we can create the ideal racing suspension setup consisting of three distinct phases.

Product detail image

Phase 1: Air shocks require more force for activation than coil shocks. The MX Link transmits high power at the start of the stroke to overcome this. The result is outstanding responsiveness, small bump sensitivity and traction around the sag point equal to riding a coil shock.

Phase 2: Lower power through the mid-stroke provides a stable platform to reduce momentum loss. This enables the rider to actively pump for more track speed and make pinpoint line choices.

Phase 3: We combine the progressiveness of air shocks with a moderate progression at the end of the stroke to avoid blowing through the travel and give the suspension its bottomless feel.

Geometry

Geo Tune

No two tracks are the same, but Geo Tune means you can transform the Sender’s geometry to match the terrain. For tracks that are either faster and steeper, or flatter and twistier, standard 63° headset cups can be swapped out for eccentric cups that enable a slacker 62° or steeper 64°. Chainstay length is also easy to adjust to suit both course and riding style. Where tight corners make all the difference, the shorter 430 mm setting provides a rapid responding rear end. If high speed is what it takes, the longer 466 mm setting increases stability.

Product detail image

430 mm

Product detail image

Headangle 62°, 63°, 64°

Product detail image

Construction

Product detail image

Carbon Front Triangle

We chose carbon not to save weight, but for its incredible strength and vibration-damping properties. Modifying the fibre layup and wall thicknesses results in a highly puncture-resistant structure with extra strength guaranteed where needed most.

Product detail image

Aluminium Rear Triangle

Crashes happen, and when they do, the rear triangle’s width makes it most likely to hit the ground first and take the biggest impact. High-end 6066 T6 aluminium makes any potential damage easier to assess for a safer setup with no performance loss.

Product detail image

Quality in Control

Using our in-house CT scanner we examine wall thicknesses and the carbon layup with clinical accuracy to ensure all frame’s meet our exacting standards. In our test lab, we repetitively simulate the most punishing downhill riding conditions. That means the Sender far exceeds any industry safety standards.

Product detail image

Bearings

A suspension system is only as good as the bearings it runs on. All bearings on the Sender are industrial grade. Oversized bearings on the main triangle are used to deal with the high lateral forces applied in this area.

NEVER FOLLOW

Features

Product detail image

DRAW THE LINE

„Man muss kreativ werden, um der Schnellste zu sein.“ Dieser Gedanke hat uns angetrieben, das fortschrittlichste Downhill-Bike der Welt zu bauen. Kinematik, Geometrie und Material wurden einzig und allein für die Rennstrecke konzipiert. Kontrollierbarkeit, Anpassungsfähigkeit, Langlebigkeit und Geräuschlosigkeit sind die Attribute des neuen Downhillers. Was sich dahinter verbirgt, erfährst du hier.

Suspension Concept

Kinematics

Die Motocross-inspirierte Dämpferanlenkung (MX-Link) ermöglicht das Übersetzungsverhältnis unabhängig der Parameter Antisquat, Pedalrückschlag und Antirise anzupassen. Durch den hohen Antisquatwert des Viergelenk-Hinterbaus lässt sich das Bike gut beschleunigen und liegt stabil in Anliegern und Kompressionen. Die Kraft des Pedalrückschlags wird in Geschwindigkeit umgesetzt. Der Bodenkontakt des Hinterrades ist durch die Auslegung des Antirise beim Anbremsen vor Kurven permanent gegeben und verleiht die nötige Kontrolle.

Die Kennlinie wurde speziell auf die Charakteristik leichter Luftdämpfer ausgelegt und unterteilt sich in drei Phasen.

Product detail image

1. Stage: Das hohe Übersetzungsverhältnis zu Beginn des Federwegs hilft das etwas höhere Losbrechmoment des Luftdämpfers zu „überwinden“. Dadurch erhält man ein sensibles Ansprechverhalten um den SAG-Punkt und ein hohes Gripniveau, ähnlich einer Stahlfeder.

2. Stage: Die abflachende Steigung im mittleren Federwegbereich verleiht das stabile Gefühl einer Plattform. Diese unterstützt das aktive und zugleich präzise Fahren.

3. Stage: Die Endprogression der Kennlinie und des Luftdämpfers verhindert Durchschläge. Die letzten 20% des Federwegs vermitteln das „Bottomless-Feeling“.

Geometrie

Geo Tune

Das Bike wird mit konzentrischen Lagerschalen und einem Steuerrohrwinkel von 63° ausgeliefert. Mit den exzentrischen Lageschalen kann man den Steuerrohrwinkel von 62° für steile, schnelle Abfahrten auf 64°, für vergleichbar enge Kurse, anpassen. Die Steckachse lässt sich unkompliziert in zwei Positionen befestigen. Damit hat man die Wahl: 430 mm Hinterbaulänge für mehr Agilität oder 446 mm für eine zentrale Sitzposition. Analog zum Hinterbau lässt sich die Bremse sauber in zwei Positionen montieren.

Product detail image

430 mm

Product detail image

Headangle 62°, 63°, 64°

Product detail image

Konstruktion

Product detail image

Hauptrahmen

Der Hauptrahmen besteht aus einem gut dämpfenden Kohlefasertypen der sich durch eine sehr hohe Bruchdehnung, Impact-Resistenz und einer dauerhaften Ermüdungsfestigkeit bei intensiver Betriebslast auszeichnet.

Product detail image

Hinterbau

Der Hinterbau ist der breiteste Teil des Bikes und im Falle eines Sturzes der erste Kontaktpunkt mit dem Untergrund. Um Schäden besser beurteilen zu können und auf den ersten Blick sichtbar zu machen, ist der Hinterbau aus 6066 T6 Aluminium.

Product detail image

Qualitätskontrolle

Die Carbon-Wandstärken, ihr Aufbau und die Anordnung der Prepregs werden bei uns im Computertomographen genau kontrolliert. Damit übertreffen wir die QM-Standards der Bike-Industrie um ein Vielfaches.

Product detail image

Lager

Alle Lager des Viergelenkers sind mit robusten Industrielagern ausgestattet, um ein sensibles Ansprechen zu gewährleisten. Insbesondere an der Anbindung zum Hauptrahmen wurden extragroße Lager eingesetzt, die neben den hohen Betriebslasten auch hohe Querbelastungen aufnehmen.

Nur wer seine eigene Linie findet, muss keiner anderen folgen.

Features

Product detail image