Beyond Limits

Going Beyond Limits — that was our aim when we set out to develop a new XC race bike. Up to now, the performance of hardtail racers has been judged primarily by one key parameter: stiffness-to-weight. From the outset, we decided that focussing on this alone is too limited. when looking to create the ultimate modern-day racer. In addition to stiffness-to-weight, the relationship between weight and control, comfort and durability also plays an essential role when it comes to overall performance.

Weight

One of the main goals in the development of the Exceed CF SLX was to set a new benchmark when it comes to low frame weight. At just 870 g, the Exceed CF SLX frame alone is a whole 300 g lighter than its predecessor, the Grand Canyon CF SLX. This impressive weight reduction is a result of surface optimisation according to our Minimal Surface Concept.

Slim Nodes

Nodes define the points where different tubes converge. The bigger these points are, the greater the amount of foam that needs to be used to make the design possible. All of the nodes on the frames were made as small as possible in order to reduce the amount of foam and therefore save weight.

Smart Details

Placing the brake calliper between the seatstay and the chainstay means there is no need for a stiffening brace. This significantly reduces the amount of materials used on the left side dropout without any stiffness being lost. The weight advantage of 1x11 drivetrains can be fully exploited thanks to the new derailleur hanger. the main derailleur bolt doubles up as the hanger bolt meaning an extra screw can be saved to further reduce weight.

Straight Lines

A straight line is the shortest way to connect two points. All of the Exceed CF SLX’s tubes were therefore designed to be as short and straight as possible with consideration being given to the available space. this made it possible to reduce the total surface area.

Slender Tubes

The bigger the cross section of a tube, the greater its surface area. Cross sections are usually enlarged in order to generate stiffness. To keep the surfaces as small as possible we have only
increased the cross section to a carefully calculated point in order to achieve the perfect balance between stiffness and lightness.

Stiffness

Stiffness-to-weight is what determines how quickly you reach the top of the climb. this value isn’t just a generic term for how good a bike is, it’s an actual measurement. That’s why we made it our primary goal to set a new stiffness-to-weight benchmark with the Exceed CF SLX.

Comfort

Vibrations that enter the body via the bike have a negative effect on rider endurance by causing unwanted muscle and joint fatigue. Reducing these vibrations to increase comfort can therefore directly improve rider performance.

Handling

The perfect race bike has to deliver stability and control in every scenario. When your heart rate is maxed out and energy levels start to drop off at the top of a climb, you need to be able to recover on descents while still riding fast. The Exceed CF SLX has a progressive geometry with an extended front center and slackened steering angle for fast and confident descending. When things get technical, wide bars and a short stem enhance agility so you always find the perfect line.

Durability

The demands of designing a frame that weighs less than 900 g and is strong enough to be ridden hard across the most testing terrain are enormous. With the Exceed CF SLX we applied a blend of high performance fibres with an advanced layup to achieve the advanced levels of strength, stiffness and vertical compliance we were after.

Beyond Limits

Limits neu definieren – dieses Ziel hatten wir bei der Entwicklung eines neuen Carbon XC -Race Bikes vor Augen. Bisher hat sich die Qualität eines Hardtail Race-Bikes in erster Linie an einer zentralen Größe gemessen: dem Verhältnis von Steifigkeit zu Gewicht (STW ). Den Fokus ausschließlich auf den STW -Wert zu legen, wäre allerdings zu eingeschränkt gedacht. Das Verhältnis von Gewicht zu Handling, Komfort und Haltbarkeit spielt eine ebenso wichtige Rolle.

Gewicht

Eines der Hauptziele bei der Entwicklung des Exceed CF SLX war es, mit dem Rahmengewicht eine neue Benchmark zu setzen. Mit einem Rahmengewicht von 870 g ist uns das gelungen. Die extreme Gewichtsreduzierung von 300 g im Vergleich zum Vorgänger, dem Grand Canyon CF SLX, konnte durch eine Oberflächenoptimierung nach dem Minimalflächenprinzip realisiert werden.

Slim Nodes

Knotenpunkte entstehen dort, wo Rahmenrohre zusammenlaufen. Je größer diese Punkte sind, desto mehr Füllstoffe und Schäume müssen verwendet werden, um diese Form zu ermöglichen. Um die Verwendung von Füllstoffen und Schäumen zu reduzieren und so Gewicht zu sparen, wurden alle Knotenpunkte am Rahmen so klein wie möglich gestaltet.

Smart Details

Durch die Platzierung des Bremssattels zwischen Sitz- und Kettenstrebe entfällt die Versteifungsstrebe. Dadurch konnte der Materialeinsatz am linken Ausfallende ohne Verluste der Steifigkeit erheblich reduziert werden. Durch den abschraubbaren Umwerfersockel wurde der Gewichtsvorteil von 1x11-Schaltungen vollends ausgeschöpft. Die Umwerferschraube dient gleichzeitig zur Befestigung des Umwerfersockels.

Straight Lines

Die kürzeste Verbindung zwischen zwei Punkten ist eine gerade Linie. Alle Rohre des Exceed CF SLX wurden folglich unter Berücksichtigung des Bauraums so geradlinig und kurz wie möglich gestaltet. So konnte die gesamte Oberfläche reduziert werden.

Slender Tubes

Je größer der Querschnitt eines Rohres, desto größer wird auch dessen Oberfläche. Querschnitte werden in der Regel vergrößert, um Steifigkeit zu generieren. Um die Oberflächen so gering wie möglich zu halten, haben wir die Querschnitte nur bis zu einem gewissen Maß vergrößert.

Steifigkeit

Das Verhältnis von Steifigkeit zum Gewicht entscheidet, wie gut man sich im Kampf gegen die Massenträgheit schlägt und wie schnell man den Berg hinauf sprintet. Durch das sensationelle Steifigkeits-/Gewichtsverhältnis haben wir mit dem Exceed CF SLX Grenzen verschoben.

Komfort

Vibrationen, die über das Bike in den Körper eingeleitet werden, haben einen negativen Einfluss auf Ausdauer, Gelenke, Wirbelsäule und Muskeln. Eine Verringerung dieser Vibrationen, und somit eine Erhöhung des Komforts, hat einen direkten leistungssteigernden Effekt, der besonders im Profisport extrem wichtig ist.

Handling

Ein Race-Bike muss in jeder Situation Kontrolle und Sicherheit vermitteln. Wenn der Puls am Anschlag ist und die Kraft am Gipfel nachlässt, genau dann braucht der Racer ein Bike, auf das er sich in der Abfahrt zu 100% verlassen kann. Durch den flacheren Lenkwinkel und das längere Frontcenter fährt sich das Exceed CF SLX auch auf den anspruchsvollsten Abfahrten wie auf Schienen! Durch den breiten Lenker und den kurzen Vorbau lässt es sich dabei trotzdem zu jeder Zeit punktgenau steuern.

Haltbarkeit

Die Herausforderung, einen Rahmen mit einem Gewicht von unter 900 g zu konstruieren, der zudem beste Haltbarkeitswerte aufweist, ist komplex und schwierig. Der Carbon-Rahmen des Exceed CF SLX besteht ausschließlich aus Hochleistungsfasern. Nur so ist es möglich, ein Carbon-Layup zu entwickeln, das dem Rahmen höchste Steifigkeit, Impact-Resistenz und Ermüdungsfestigkeit verleiht.