No Routine

It’s a stretch to guarantee that a bike can change how you live, but it can help. The new Spectral was developed by riders, for riders, to have the most fun riding. Say no to your routine and yes to the trails. What are you waiting for? #NOROUTINE

The New Spectral

What makes a trail bike fun? We set out to find the right mixture of traction, control, handling and playfulness. To create a simple and robust bike that begs to be thrown through corners and fly down trail. A bike that makes you want to leave work early and go ride.

Concept

With 27.5” wheels, 2.4” rubber and our new Sender-inspired suspension, the new Spectral is our take on the modern trail bike. The progressive geometry uses 160 and 150 mm of front and rear travel and will have you ready to bomb down any trail, but still get you to the top with ease.

The new Spectral

As a modern trail bike, the Spectral combines a long front center with a shorter rear end to maintain a long wheelbase that is secure at speed, but also easy to navigate through tight singletrack. Low standover and bottom bracket heights improve manoeuvrability, while wide 760 mm handlebars pair with a short stem for optimal control to round out a complete package aimed at improving balance and handling without sacrificing playfulness.

New linkage

Tradition is important, but it shouldn’t stand in the way of progress. Our new suspension is a big step from the rocker kinematic of the previous Spectral. Not only does it improve the stroke of the shock, it has allowed us to increase standover height and use a larger 150 mm dropper post for significant gains in rider mobility.

Integrated Cable Channel

Routing cables internally keeps them protected from the elements and provides a clean look, but makes maintenance more difficult and can cause cable rattle. To solve this, all carbon and aluminium models of the Spectral come with a newly developed cable channel.
Seamlessly integrating into the frame, it also serves as a bash guard to protect your bike from big hits and is simple and affordable to replace if required.

Integrated Seatpost Clamp

To clean up the bike even more and further reduce any parts susceptible to wear and tear, we integrated the seatpost clamp. Moving the clamp to a spot inside the front of the seat tube creates a seamless aesthetic between the dropper post and the frame and contributes to the complete design of the bike.

IPU

The Impact Protection Unit (IPU), developed and patented by Canyon, protects the top tube from being damaged by the handlebar thanks to an integrated limit stop. If the handlebars hit the IPU with enough force, hollow screws are designed to break and absorb the impact, leaving the top tube unharmed.

Triple Phase Suspension

Initially developed for the Sender, our Three Phase Kinematic provides improved traction and sensitivity at the start of the stroke, a stable platform through the mid-stroke to give the rider an active feel for the terrain, and a progressive ramp towards the end to make full use of the shock.

Wheels & Tyres

With our sights set firmly on figuring out which tyre/wheel setup was the most grin-inducing, we landed on 27.5” wheels with 2.6” or 2.4” rubber. Put through the wringer in the Scottish mud by the Dudes of Hazzard, this combo strikes the ideal balance between the added traction of larger tyres with the quicker handling of smaller wheels.

No Routine

Ein Rad alleine kann deine Lebensgewohnheiten nicht ändern. Aber es kann dir dabei helfen. Das neue Spectral wurde entwickelt, um dir Spaß zu bereiten. Um Abwechslung in deinen Alltag zu bringen. Sag Nein zur Gewohnheit und Ja zu den Trails. Worauf wartest du? #NOROUTINE

Das neue Spectral

Was macht ein Trailbike aus? Wir haben uns auf die Suche gemacht nach der richtigen Mischung aus Traktion, Kontrolle, Handling und Verspieltheit. Herausgekommen ist ein Bike, das geradezu darum bettelt, durch enge Kurven gepeitscht und Trailabfahrten hinuntergejagt zu werden. Ein Bike, das dich dazu bringt, früher Feierabend machen zu wollen, um dich in den Sattel zu schwingen.

Konzept

Mit 27,5” Laufrädern, 2,4” Reifen und unserem vom Sender inspirierten Fahrwerk ist das Spectral unsere Interpretation eines modernen Trail Bikes. Die progressive Geometrie spielt ihr volle Stärke auf allen Trails aus, bergab sowie bergauf.

Das neue Spectral

Als modernes Trailbike kombiniert das Spectral eine lange Front mit einem kürzeren Heck, um einen langen und laufruhigen Radstand beizubehalten, ohne an Wendigkeit in engen Singletracks zu verlieren. Niedrige Überstands- und Tretlagerhöhe verbessert die Manövrierfähigkeit, während der breite 760 mm Lenker mit kurzem Vorbau für optimale Kontrolle sorgt, um das Komplettpaket aus Balance, Handling und Verspieltheit abzurunden.

Neue Linkage

Tradition ist wichtig, aber sie sollte dem Fortschritt nicht im Weg stehen. Unser neues Fahrwerk hat eine gewaltige Entwicklung durchlaufen seit der Rocker-Kinematik des vorangegangenen Spectral Modells. Dadurch verbessern sich nicht nur die Dämpfereigenschaften. Zusätzlich konnten wir die Überstandshöhe verringern und eine absenkbare Sattelstütze mit satten 150 mm einbauen, die die Fahrermobilität erheblich erhöht.

Integrierter Kabelkanal

Innenverlegte Züge sind vor Witterung geschützt und lassen den Rahmen clean wirken. Allerdings ist die Wartung etwas komplizierter und es können Klappergeräusche entstehen. Unsere Lösung: Alle Carbon- und Aluminium-Modelle des Spectral sind mit einem neu entwickelten Kabelkanal ausgestattet. Die robuste Kunststoff-Befestigung fügt sich nahtlos in den Rahmen ein, schützt dein Bike gegen harte Schläge und lässt sich, wenn nötig, leicht und preisgünstig ersetzen.

Integrierte Sattelklemme

Damit das Rad noch cleaner aussieht und um die Anzahl an verschleißanfälligen Teilen weiter zu reduzieren, haben wir die Sattelklemme in den Rahmen integriert. Sie sitzt auf der Innenseite des Sitzrohrs, fügt sich harmonisch in das Bikedesign ein und erzeugt so einen nahtlosen Übergang zwischen Dropper Post und Rahmen.

IPU

Die Impact Protection Unit (IPU) ist eigens von Canyon entwickelt und patentiert. Mittels eines integrierten Anschlages schützt sie das Oberrohr vor Schlägen durch den Lenker. Sollte der Lenker die IPU dennoch einmal mit genügend Kraft treffen, sorgen die Sollbruchstellen der Hohlschrauben dafür, dass der Aufprall absorbiert wird und das Oberrohr unbeschädigt bleibt.

Triple Phase Suspension

Die Drei-Phasen-Kinematik garantiert verbesserte Traktion und feineres Ansprechverhalten zu Beginn des Einfederns, eine stabile Plattform im Mittelbereich und eine progressive Steigerung gegen Ende, um den Dämpfer voll auszunutzen.

Reifen & Laufräder

Welches Reifen/Laufrad-Setup verursacht das breiteste Grinsen beim Fahrer? Wir haben uns für breite 27,5" Laufräder mit Reifen in 2,4" entschieden. Diese Kombination schafft die ideale Balance aus satter Traktion und agilem Handling.